O Canada, my new home and not my native land…

17 Aug

I have visited Canada dozens of times over the years. Some of my best vacation memories are linked to Canada! Visiting my sister at her college in Surrey with my cousin A., Shopping in Whistler and enjoying our condo there, A family road trip to the GREATEST MALL IN THE WORLD in Edmonton, Playing with my cousins in Lake Osoyoos on the border of Eastern Washington/British Columbia and A romantic getaway with my BFF Kiki to Niagara Falls. The list is extensive. Yet, I never thought I would live here. Ah, the things we do for love!

It’s so bizarre to live right next to a country, visit it all the time and always feel welcome. But then I married a Canadian and I haven’t felt welcome since. It feels like we have done nothing but fight to live here together. I now have panic attacks any time we come within 10 miles of the Canadian border. People laugh when I tell them that, but I am not joking! Literally if I am within 10 miles of a crossing bridge my heart starts racing, I begin to sweat and shake, it becomes hard to breathe! I have this fear that we’ll accidentally turn onto the road taking us to the border, and they won’t let me back in once I am forced to turn around on the US side.

Yes, I know this is irrational but we haven’t had the easiest crossings, the first one being the worse. It spanned over 2 days and Trevor almost punched out an Immigration Officer…

But here we are, a year and a half after our first dealings with the border. Trying to make a life for ourselves with Beau and I as visitors. No access to school, healthcare or a job for myself. T is being Wonder-Hubby-Dad and providing for us the best he can. He works 3 jobs, attends a night course and is about to start his last year of college. He truly inspires me. If only he wasn’t so tired. Last night he fell asleep while I was recounting mine and Beau’s day. Poor guy is working 70 hours a week. We miss him a lot and I know he wishes it was easier for us here. All in time, I know. “Good things come to those who wait” “Patience is a Virtue”  Yada, Yada, Yada, I have a few choice words for the people who came up with those little sayings! *eye roll*

Anyhow, it will be nice when all is said and done, and I can call myself and Beau a Resident of this fine country Canada. (Overlooking Immigration fiascos and Political Issues/Differences of course)

We miss Washington and the good ol’ US of A!

One Response to “O Canada, my new home and not my native land…”

  1. jill August 18, 2011 at 1:04 am #

    Canada may not yet know your value, realize how fortunate the country is to have you living on thier soil…but they will ! Where ever you go, where ever you live… the people around you are better just for knowing you. Remember , you are loved and thought of daily by us. We miss you but support your choice to follow your love to Canada.

Leave a Reply

