Concussions Suck Metaphorical Balls

12 Sep

Pardon my English (why do they always say French?), but they do.

 

Its been over a week since B danced attacked me and left me with a concussion. I have hated every minute of being bound to the house and to the couch in particular. I’m not the type of person who is content just lounging about doing nothing. Especially when the house is a complete wreck and I begin to smell.

And let me tell you, 3 days ago I smelled. Oh it was bad. I knew it was bad, I knew I should shower but I was so run-down that I just couldn’t find the desire to wash my parts. That was of course, until B snuggled up to me and then quickly pulled away stating with extreme shock, “Oh momma, your armpit stinks and the smell stung my nose! Look, see!” He then pulled up the tip of his nose exposing his “stinging nostrils”.  He’s 3 and speaks with utter honesty. He then proceeded to go into the bathroom and turn the bathtub faucet on… “Momma, come clean your stinky pits for Daddy get home!” He yelled. I showered. Thanks B, you’re a good son. =)

I have managed to sneak in a couple cheats while resting this past week. Beau and I made banana bread (I’ll post the recipe for you soon!) and granola bars (recipe to come once I work out the kinks), I talked T into taking me to a street fair which ended up to be short-lived as I totally couldn’t handle the noise and walking about focusing on things, and I managed to post about 9/11. I kept telling T “Just give me 10 more minutes…” as he eyed me and let out sighs letting me know he did not agree with my drawn out usage of “10 more minutes” equating to about 2 hours in all. What was he gonna do, take my laptop away? Pft, yeeeeah he wouldn’t dare. Not with the strange moods this concussion has triggered. I get a wee-bit enraged over minor things that really shouldn’t bother me. I’m hoping that goes away soon because with T’s odd sense of humor and ill-timed jokes, he could easily be the target of concussion rage. Would I legally be held responsible for bodily harm? Like if I threw a dagger or something at him? Could I plead Concussion Induced Rage, or Insanity? Hmm…I should look into this.

Well, with that all being said I am still recovering. But the good news is my speech has improved greatly as of today. Still slow, but I don’t come off as a person with a strange speech impediment anymore. I still have a constant tension-like headache, body aches, uncontrollable mood swings and a slight brain fog. But, I am better than I was last Monday so I’ll take it!

 

Thank you all for your continued prayers, good energy and thoughtful messages. I love every single one of you. Even the stranger who stumbles here by way of a search engine because of my tagline “balls”, I love you too. Feel warm =)

 

 

 

11 Responses to “Concussions Suck Metaphorical Balls”

  1. brainforthought September 12, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Get well soon!

    • Lace September 12, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

      Thanks Warren! I really enjoyed reading about your blog this evening. Cheers!

  2. jill September 12, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Your on your way back ….take it slow. I have to admit, Ive missed your posts, but I didnt want to pressure you. Try to pace yourself.

    • Lace September 12, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

      I will Momma. I’ll just work on them here and there when I feel up to it. Love ya.

  3. Leah Lindstrand Garrett September 12, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Ok Lacey seriously you almost had me pittle my pants! I just love your humor, and the serch engine search for “balls” Genius!!!! Love you sister, get well soon. And shower a little more often so my poor nephew’s nose doesnt bleed 🙂

    • Lace September 12, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

      You know I find showering inconvenient… Take me as I my sissy. Stinky pits and all. =)

  4. Jason September 12, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    Concussions are the worst. Let’s hope everything you look at doesn’t have a green ring around it. Get well soon!

    • Lace September 12, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

      Thanks Jason! And no green ring in my vision…I am guessing thats a good thing!

      • Lace September 12, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

        Wish I could say the same for my bathtub… I did a number on it…. Whoops.

      • Jason September 13, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

        Yes, no green ring is definitely a good thing. The bath tub will live, that’s what it’s made for!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Concussion Still Sucks Metaphorical Balls. « My Life Of Cards - June 15, 2012

    […] since my concussion (read all about it HERE and HERE) I have felt emotionally unstable. Because of the Post Concussion Syndrome, I have […]

Leave a Reply

