My first “How To”

19 Apr

As I was wrapping T’s graduation present (YAY! This deserves its own separate post), I was thinking about what I wanted to write about next. I wasn’t in the mood to get all teary-eyed while writing my sister’s “Player Card” so I started thinking of something I could teach everyone!

I first thought of baking, but, we have zilch when it comes to food so that’s a no-go. Then I thought about teaching my nifty scarf making techniques out of old t-shirts, but that was done forever ago on other websites that do it WAY better. I thought about singing for you guys, imitating some famous singer like Jewel, Alanis Morissette or Adele. But I’m pretty sure B wouldn’t cooperate while I sang for you and then proceed to explain the process of “Mentally Embodying Another Being”. Which really is what you have to do to sound like them. I also have no idea how to edit video from my new camera. We’ll save that treasure for another day.

So I finished wrapping T’s gift and proceeded to put the final touches on it. I’m always impressed with my wrapping. It’s one-of-a-kind and legendary. Then it dawned on me. I could teach you all (quite easily) how to wrap a gift, and make it the most epic wrap-job ever! People will love it. Trust me. Sometimes people admire my wrapping more than the gift itself. Which is fine by me because I’ve been poor for a while, and the gift is usually nothing special (It’s the thought that counts though, right?). Being poor is why I started wrapping this way in the first place. I was around 8 years old and we didn’t have any wrapping paper. To me, it seemed silly to waste money on paper to cover a gift, when there was something so pretty inside the kitchen drawer!

Without further ado, My First How To!

You will need:

  • Duck Tape
  • Foil
  • Scissors
  • Sharpie

 

  1. Pull out as much foil as you need to cover your gift. Today I used 2 long sheets and 1 short sheet.
  2. Cut a long strip of Duck Tape (I prefer colored), and then cut that into smaller pieces. Stick them on the edge of your wrapping surface for easy go-to.
  3. Wrap your gift as neatly or as crinkly as you like. There are no rules! Just cover the thing however you see fit.
  4. Once wrapped and secured with your tape, write whatever you want on the front. Doing so bypasses the need for a card. Just put it all on there, go ahead, write a novel or make it short and sweet. (Skipping the card could save you up to 6 bucks!)
  5. Lastly, add decorations. You can get as creative as you want or do none at all. Doesn’t matter. I like to make little roses and squiggly streamers. I included a picture of the gift without and with the decoration. I’m sure you’ll agree with me that the extra 3 minutes of creativity really adds that special something.

Admire the detail of the embellishment!!!

So there you have it. I’ve just taught you how to wrap a gift, in a super fun way! All of these items are probably in your house as you read this. Maybe you should wrap something now, like the plates everyone will be eating off of at dinner and the silverware too! Go ahead….I know you want to.

Question Period:

Is there something you do/make that is unique to you? Perhaps it’s a masterpiece you cook or bake that people always request the recipe for? Or maybe something people see and know instantaneously that it’s yours? What is it, I’d love to know!

4 Responses to “My first “How To””

  1. leah Garrett April 19, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    Awesome as usual!!!

  2. Mindless April 19, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    Bwahahahaha i know what’s in the gift!!! Since I saved you from a lifetime of crime to get it ;P

    • Lace April 20, 2012 at 8:40 am #

      Hehehe, you sure did. Who knows what string of events may have unfurled!? I probably would have wound up in a dirty Canadian prison, awaiting deportation….

  3. How to Stop Panic Attacks April 30, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really loved browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing in your feed and I’m hoping you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

