Umbrellas Have A Purpose

21 Jun

Just a short post this morning as I am heading out to help a friend get organized for a move. There’s been a promise of Starbucks, so of course, I am there.
Last night in bed T and I were discussing our day and planning out our weekend. I made mention that I wish I had a Canadian driver’s license because it’s so hot, B and I dislike walking very far in this heat. But in order to cool down and have fun, we need to walk about a mile to the nearest plash-pad/park.

Me- Maybe we could call a cab for the ride there? And you could pick us up after work?

T- That’s kinda weird for just a mile. I can pick you up, but I don’t think a cab is necessary.

Me- Ya, I know. It’s just so humid it makes me sick walking in it. (using my whiny voice here)

(He offers no ideas. Time passes in silence.)

Me- I could always use an umbrella like those Asian people B pointed out the other day. (B thought them very strange walking with an umbrella in 100 degree weather)

T- So you’re going to use an umbrella?

Me- Yeah, I think that would help shade us while we walk. Like a parasol…

T- So you’re going to use an umbrella to shade yourself from the sunshine?

(T starts giggling. Yes, giggling.)

Me- What is so funny?

T- Well, in true Seattlite fashion, you never use an umbrella. You always have them around, but you just gingerly walk out into the rain, never complaining. It could be pouring and you just walk faster. Now you want to use one, but it’s to block out sun.

(Yes, I get it now)

Me- Well that’s because if I don’t shade myself from the sun, people will see me sparkle. I can’t risk people figuring out  what I truly am.

T- Twilight? Really?

Me- OK yes, it’s weird and I get the oxymoron found of my actions. Or maybe it’s just moronic….

T- Love you Lace.

Me- Love you, Night T.

(Time passes as we try to sleep)

Me- YES! Now I can finally use that umbrella that came with my purse! It matches the lining you know…

T- Glad you finally found a use for it….

Me- I know right?! It takes up so much space, but I knew some day it would come in handy.

T- You could have used it last time you were in Seattle, with all those rainy days.

Me- You just don’t get it T. You don’t get it.

Have a great Thursday everyone! I know I will. Starbucks is on the horizon.

5 Responses to “Umbrellas Have A Purpose”

  1. macaroniandvodka June 21, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    I honestly can’t remember the last time I used an umbrella. I don’t even think I own one. When it rains here (New Orleans), it RAINS, so an umbrella really only keeps your hair dry. Unless it is sideways rain. I really hate sideways rain.

  2. Jill June 21, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Umbrella ….those are curcular ,with a stick attached to it, right? I think i have seen one..so, how does that fit in your purse?

    • Lace June 21, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

      Its one of those small, collapsible ones!

  3. Andrew June 21, 2012 at 10:16 am #

    Having an umbrella for shade is so Victorian. And wicked cool.

    • Lace June 21, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

      That’s what I’m saying! I’ll feel right out of a Jane Austen movie!

Leave a Reply

