Calling all Cards

23 Jun

Recently, plans have been made for my son to visit his dad and extended family in Texas. B will be gone for the whole month of July and I’m already starting to dream up ways to keep myself occupied. I am pretty sure I’ll love the solitude.

First, I plan to finish reading “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened” By Jenny Lawson, The Bloggess. A book I bought over 2 weeks ago and have barely cracked due to mothering obligations and exhaustion. Second, I plan to read the rest of the Game of Thrones series. Thirdly, this reading and relaxing will take place in a comfy lawn chair as I simultaneously tan, soaking up all those cancerous rays the East Coast has to offer me. Fourthly, I shall keep a cooler of alcoholic beverages beside me with plenty of little umbrellas to pop in them. In my head, I’ll be in Guam. Fifthly, I will most definitely be blogging it up! Why not right? There will be no little Thor to distract me with Wii Games. No cute little face begging me to walk to the park. No whimpering interruptions of hunger, this thing children always seem to want, I think it’s called lunch?

It’s just me fulfilling my own desires. I can almost feel the sun penetrating my epidermis. Just two more weeks until my vacation from motherhood commences and I find out which of my favorite characters die in their game of thrones.

 

In preparation of “Blogging it Up”, over the next 2 weeks while I await my maternal check-out, I am amassing Cards of Life in my draft folder. I have prepared 20 cards so far but I’d like to hear about your cards. All player’s have stock cards, like The “I’m Sorry” Card, or The “I’m in Love” Card, those cards we all have in common to some degree. I want fresh cards, different cards, cards that I’ve never encountered a use for yet. Help me build a better, well-rounded and more prepared hand.

Anything goes. They can be funny, faith-based, thoughtful, sad, challenging, raunchy. Whatever you have, I want. Seriously anything goes!

 

If you’d like to help me out, please leave the title of your cards and a brief description as a comment below. Although usually the title is enough for me to go on, so no pressure for the description. You can also email me your Cards of Life at mylifeofcards@yahoo.com and I will be sure to give credit where it is due when the card is made.

 

Thanks ahead of time to my followers, readers and players alike. I can’t wait to hear about your cards! Have a wonderful weekend and Game On!

17 Responses to “Calling all Cards”

  1. Jim Maher June 23, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    A whole month? Crazy. I don’t know what I’d do. Probably lose my mind. Thanks again for all your kind words during our recent minor health crisis. The caffeine cleanse almost ended, but I stuck it out. I’ll try to think up some new cards for you.

    • Lace June 23, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

      Glad everyone is on the mend! And looking forward to your cards!

  2. Andrew June 23, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    Don’t be mad when you get to the 4th and especially 5th book of Game of Thrones series.

    • Lace June 23, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      I’m thoroughly prepared to lose all of the ones I love in that book. I almost cried and I definitely cursed when Ned got spiked.

      • Andrew June 24, 2012 at 2:52 am #

        Oh gees, we need to talk after you read further on. What book are you on now?

      • Lace June 24, 2012 at 10:13 am #

        Clash of Kings. I would have read the series much sooner had my husband described it better. “Oh yeah, you have to read these books. It’s all about political intrigue and a bunch of great characters die.” Totally didn’t sell me on it. BUT the TV series was amazing and as always, I knew the books would be that much better. So I have begun and am racing to finish them before they air again. =) I’ll keep you posted as people die, and give you my thoughts on it.

  3. theliftblog June 23, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    Very awesome and interesting request! I’ll have to think on that and will get back to you. 🙂 The whole month of Lace will be great for you, it’s always good to get some time to reconnect with what you want.

    • Lace June 23, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      I am totally looking forward to the Me Time and I can’t wait to learn of your card(s).

  4. Shannon Lindstrand June 24, 2012 at 3:17 am #

    Cards I play frequently…the “Sorry, I’m allergic” card, the “I now avoid that because I once had a bad experience” card (I am afraid of peanut butter which always requires an explanation) and the “sorry for being rude but I’m incapable of lying and YOU asked” card.

    • Lace June 24, 2012 at 10:17 am #

      Thanks Cousin!

      I play the “I’m Allergic” Card ALL THE TIME. As you know, I am severely allergic to dairy. Throat closes off and everything. Same goes for shellfish and kiwi…. I’d love for you to email me about the peanut butter experience so I can use it for The “Irrational Fear” Card, and I also use The “Blunt Truth” Card and people don’t seem to like mine either. Hahaha. Thanks again Shannon! Email me mylifeofcards@yahoo.com with your peanut butter story! =)

  5. macaroniandvodka June 25, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    I’m sending my son off for the month of July as well. NOT looking forward to it. He will only be 4 hours away with his dad, but still. We’ve never done this and I am a baby.

    A card I have used once or twice (or maybe 6 times): The “Tell your boss you caught an AWFUL stomach bug over the weekend and you just can’t come in to work when actually you’re just really hungover” card.

    • Lace June 25, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

      I feel for you and your son. This separation although welcomed, is frightening! He’s never been away for this long, and I know it will be good for him and I, but it will also be torture on some days. Hopefully I can come up with several ways to distract myself, and I am sure we’ll both end up better for the parting in the end!

      Also, great card =) I have the one that covers what you are speaking of. It’s called The “I’m Sick but Not Really Sick” Card.

      https://mylifeofcards.wordpress.com/2011/08/18/the-im-sick-but-not-really-sick-card/

  6. Jill June 25, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    I quit card. It can be a job,relationship,diet
    Addiction card. Dont we all have at least one
    Sex card. I know, I really like this card… but lets think outside the vagina for a sec… how about sex change, sex confusion,frustration,toys,games…. perhaps, I should refer to the abve card. Hummm
    Im just not appropriate card. Enough said to fuel thoughts im sure
    You heard me card (did i say that out loud)
    Friend card
    Dream card. Could be a actual dream or a wish
    Miracle card. Presents for christmas, mom and dad dont work. Money, cash money in my mail box. Car drove for an hour on e!
    Death card. Could be a loved one, a dream, a plant, a pet
    Airplane travel card.
    Driver card.got your independance now.
    First card. Could be a kiss, a drink, a smoke, a trip, an experience
    Duck card. I know, but you know of players that just pulled this card out of the deck
    I did it card. Any success. Mile stone event, effort, goal
    Body card. This can be as big as you want(get it) Im thinking a look at young children s perspective on the body parts.perhaps L can share her golden book story with you for a giggle . This also could be a card about woman and our twisted,opinion of beauty

    • Lace June 25, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

      Thanks Mom! Those are great! I have a few similar to yours lined up and you offered some I didn’t think about either. Love you!

  7. Jill June 25, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    Kids are adults now card…. not responsible for THAT!
    Gyn card. Perhaps flowers and candy would be nice to bring next time…dr. does this all day!
    Dentist card. I tend to lose or pass this one, even more than the gyn card.
    Doctor appt card. Would be vast and cover all medical procedures
    No food in the fridge card. Whats a person to eat? Funny food inventions, creative ways to get the most out of nothing. Your bro would eat the hot dogs… and DRINK THE JUICE IN THE PKG!

  8. amyelsie June 27, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    This one is kind of specific but the “I don’t speak English” card. Anytime you’re in trouble/doing something you know you shouldn’t. Helpful on trains when you don’t have a ticket, in museums/castles/parks when you deliberately wander past the ‘Do not enter sign’ or when someone asks you a question or to do something and you really don’t want to do it…

    • Lace June 27, 2012 at 8:17 am #

      PERFECT! I have never used this card, but I lived in an area with they did all the time. AND I KNOW THEY SPOKE/UNDERSTOOD ENGLISH! That’s such a clever idea, To pretend to not speak English. Like a bluff card! Love it! Thank you Amyelsie =)

Leave a Reply

