Kreativ Blogger Nomination

30 May

Yesterday a fellow blogger nominated me for the Kreativ Blogger Award. His blog is great and is one of my faves! He deals out entertaining posts in 200 words or less that always provoke a thought or a laugh from me. With 200 words or less I always have time to read his posts in their entirety before B has the chance to interrupt. Bonus! Go check him out at http://the200.wordpress.com/ Thanks Jim for the nomination! Can I nominate you right back again? 😉

When I received this nomination I immediately went to Google to find out all the details about the award. I had no idea it would turn into a 30 minute long Google Treasure Hunt. I ended up all over the place, trying to find the origins of this award. What I discovered was slightly disappointing. After reading many blogs that had been “nominated” and were in turn nominating 7 more blogs for the award (as the rules direct) I quickly realized that this award was in fact, just a nomination for an award that doesn’t truly exist. It felt like the chain letter for a blog award.

At first I felt extremely disappointed. I had gotten so excited about possibly receiving an actual blog award and my hopes were pretty high. And then they came tumbling down after unearthing the illegitimacy of it all. I sat in front of my computer, feeling sad and wishing it had been something more. Then I raised my head and allowed myself to feel proud and absolutely happy about the nomination for the imaginary award that will never be bestowed to anyone.

I decided to let go of the “award” and focus on the fellow blogger who found my blog worthy of a nomination. And he did list my blog 1st out of the 7, so I have crowned myself as his favourite. Jim Maher is an amazing writer who shares his talent with the world in between caring/running/worrying after his 3 sons who are under the age of 5. He’s a super stay-at-home dad, oozing creative writing talent and I feel honored to be recognized by him regardless of the award’s legitimacy. So thank you Jim!

Although this award will never be set on my mantle, (I don’t have a mantle. But if I ever received an award, I would buy one. No, have T make me one. Nah, just buy a house with one probably.) it will be celebrated. Being acknowledged by my peer has felt amazing and I am so thankful to all of my readers who enjoy what I write.

The “rules” for receiving this award nomination are that I share 7 things about myself and then list 7 blogs for nomination of this award as well. So here it goes.

7 Things

  1. I love the smell of rain (in Seattle).
  2. I’d like to backpack across Europe.
  3. I want to publish 3 books before I die.
  4. I have an addiction to Starbucks, Victoria’s Secret and Pad Thai.
  5. Raising my son has been the best (ongoing) experience of my life.
  6. I want to be a professional writer, photographer and chef. (I need to get busy soon)
  7. I look forward to being old and never having to use my “filter”. Old people can say anything they want…

7 Blogs 

  1. The Utah Progressive – Aids in my procrastination and delivers some jaw-dropping news.
  2. 29tolife – She’s taking on her 30’s and sharing the adventure with us!
  3. Shut Up Dad – Seriously, he makes me laugh hysterically and uncontrollably. I love how his mind works.
  4. Tinkerbelle or Laughter is Catching – She understands you have to laugh about life, so she shares her’s.
  5. My Life is a Romantic Comedy – Her life really is a romantic comedy.
  6. Jake’s Blog – Jake is a writer. He’s pursuing publications and life at it’s fullest.
  7. My Twice Baked Potato – Kelly is a mom doing the best she can with her twice-exceptional son. Her site is loaded with personal experiences and advice for parents trying to navigate through the complicated process of parenting a child(ren) with complexities.

And there it is. Thanks everyone for your support and encouragement as I play my hand.

BONUS CONTENT!!!

I told B why I was writing this morning and all about the imaginary award I was nominated for. I asked him if he’d help me make my own award to hang up somewhere and he said, “First we need to take LOTS of pictures. That’s what they (celebrities I assume) do when they win awards.” I asked B if he had any cool awards and he said, “Yeah. Like the Superhero Award, and the Policeman Award. Oh and the Nerf Gun Award.” Apparently, he’s outdone me.

A photo shoot ensued and B directed the whole thing. He shows real promise.

6 Responses to “Kreativ Blogger Nomination”

  1. Jim Maher May 30, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Thanks, Lace, for your lovely words. I hope this ‘award’ gives more people a chance to see your blog, I really think they’ll enjoy it. You make me laugh, and I want others to enjoy it, too.

  2. Andrew May 30, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    Congrats!

  3. Jill May 30, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    Love what comes out of your brain…

  4. mytwicebakedpotato May 30, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    Love the nomination suggestion and I think your blog is award worthy!
    Kelly. http://mytwicebakedpotato.com

  5. Erinina May 31, 2012 at 4:00 am #

    Thanks for the blog suggestions and congratulations on the award. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. And they keep rolling in… « Stuph Blog - June 1, 2012

    […] Kreativ Blogger Nomination (mylifeofcards.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment